RSS

I like my blog shaken, not stirred

04 Jul

Hi there loyal and new readers of Erika Pryor At Large. I have to admit, I’ve been a bit MIA for the past few weeks. Not because I don’t love to bring you new and exciting things, but rather I was experiencing some growing pains.

More specifically, I’ve found myself wanting to write about a range of topics, but feeling like I couldn’t do it on my blog.Then I thought, what the hell is the point of  having a blog, if you don’t create content about what you are motivated. And I found no better time than Independence Day to make this declaration.

I’m skaking things up here at Erika Pryor At Large. I’m talking about more topics related to career and work, and of course there will be social media and web tech stuff. As an added bonus, I want to start providing Digital 411 program notes, that include websites, stories, and other general information we discuss during the course of the program.

So, what do you think is the first new thing you’re rolling out, you ask? I’m so glad you’ve asked. It’s a series called: My Day As A …

Here’s a little background. If you’ve ever worked as (or known someone that was) a consultant, freelancer, entrepreneur or small business owner, you know that no day is really like the one before, or the one coming next. For me, this is what a typical week my include among other things:

Monday I play the role of “marketing therapist,” for a client listening attentively to their difficulties managing the 10 different hats they are charged to wear, while also helping my client develop an action plan to get things done.

Tuesday, I’m getting close to an article submission deadline, so I’m finishing up the research and writing of blog and website articles.

Wednesday I find myself  working with a client to prepare them for their media interview and photo shoot. I’m also working with their team on our regional campaign launch.

Thursday I’m working on developing the Digital 411 program schedule and getting guest co-hosts lined up for the next weeks and months.

By the time Friday rolls around, I’m scheduled to do some gurrella marketing at a local festival. Followed up by spending Saturday at Port Columbus doing market research for a client.

That’s this week — but can’t say next week will look anything like this one.

And for me, that’s the exciting part of things that keeps me engaged in my work. That’s when I thought to myself Why not share these interesting moments with your community? Well, that’s what I’m not doing with the series My Day As A..

As an added bonus, I’m making the series open to others and accepting submissions from YOU! That’s right, I’m guessing a day in the life of you has it’s interesting moments, and now there’s a place where you can share it with others.

In addition to this new series, I’m making a resolution to add more video posts and video supplements to the blog.

Thanks for being a fan, listener, and reader of Erika Pryor At Large and Digital 411! I have so much fun doing both and love the interaction and support I continue to receive from you. It’s great keep it coming and I’ll keep coming with posts, videos, commentary, and much more here!

Enjoy your holiday weekend!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on July 4, 2011 in blog

 

Tags: , , , , ,

7 responses to “I like my blog shaken, not stirred

  1. Jacob Stoops

    July 13, 2011 at 12:46 am

    It’s your blog, so I say do what you want with it 🙂

     
  2. Amy Schmittauer ✔

    July 5, 2011 at 3:05 pm

    Hahaha that’s my video!

     
    • Erika Pryor

      July 7, 2011 at 5:36 am

      Yeah! I thought it came out great. The fireworks were pretty amazing in Columbus this year!

       
  3. Cheri Allbritton

    July 5, 2011 at 9:31 am

    I like the shaken but not stirred Ms. Erika. I also love the new look of your blog site, although I believe I’ve told you that before. Thank you for providing outlets for people like me to learn new things or build upon the things we’ve already learned.

     
    • Erika Pryor

      July 7, 2011 at 5:37 am

      Thank you Cheri! I hope you will take me up on my offer to take us into a day of your life when you’re ready! I know I learn so much from people hearing about their work and how they do it.

       
  4. tlillis4

    July 4, 2011 at 1:25 pm

    I’m glad you posted – I’ve been ruminating over “what goes into a blog” myself. Should I split the personal from the professional, edit the personal for a potentially professional audience or let it all hang out. Since my page views are in the single digits and the IP addresses all are family I have the luxury of time.

    So what are your thoughts, Hobson?

    For now I will do what most successful business people do – copy from the best (i.e. you) and call it “best practices”….

     
    • Erika Pryor

      July 7, 2011 at 5:39 am

      Oh Tom, I love your witty sense of humor. Feel free to call anything I do best practices — except when you know it’s complete BS. Then just call me on that. I always appreciate people keeping me honest!

       

Leave a Reply

 
