RSS

From Freelancer to Full Timer: Landing Your Next Position

24 Oct

So, I’ve been operating as a for nearly a year as a freelancer, and admittedly, there are many things I enjoy about this role. That being said, I’m glad to be back in a full time position. It’s been a week since I started my new position with The Columbus Board of REALTORS as the Interactive Communication Coordinator and Young Professional Network Liaison (I know the title is a mouth full right?) and I think I’m adjusting well.

A Brief Disclaimer: I have not worked a 9-5 gig for more than 10 years — so, I’m not just adjusting from a short stint as a freelancer, but rather from a long stint as a free agent.

Now that the disclaimer is out of the way, I know for many individuals — freelancing is a means to a full time position — and this piece is for you. I know there are plenty of people operating on a freelance or independently with no desire to return to a full-time position. That’s awesome! But this piece is specifically intended for those looking to land their next full time position.

So, the question I’ve been asked by others in transition: What did you do? I don’t know that I did anything that special, but what I offer here are some of the things that I believe contributed to taking me From Freelancer to Full Timer.

1. Maintaining a Blog

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: Maintaining a Blog is a great way to do some serious personal branding work. Not only can a blog be an outstanding way to demonstrate what you know or your areas of expertise, it can also be your digital home for your growing portfolio of creative or writing samples.

When contacted by a hiring manger, there’s nothing more exciting to hear (for me anyways) then, “I’ve read through some posts on your blog and clearly you know your stuff.”

2. Active LinkedIn User

In case you didn’t know, LinkedIn is  the “professionals’ social media network.” So, if you’re looking for a professional position and you don’t have a LI profile — open an account and get started ASAP. While in conversation with hiring mangers, I’ve heard more than once, “You’re everywhere on LinkedIn.” For me, this indicates that my name, face, status updates and group posts are relevant and frequent to that individual. I admit, that’s music to my ears!

If you have a LinkedIn profile, but don’t know what to do now, there are a number of ways to more fully utilize you’re profile and start making your investment pay off. Here are a few posts to check out for some ideas on how to do that:

3. Additional Interests of Value

Since there are more employees than jobs, it’s important to find additional ways to distinguish yourself from the pack. While in my interview, I not only spoke about my background and training, but also about my Additional Interests of Value. In my case, I have a growing interest and investment in the burgeoning young professional community in Columbus. Also, I’m always very concerned with education and educational opportunities.

What I continue to find, is that employers and hiring mangers are enthusiastic about the additional interests that a candidate brings to the table. It doesn’t hurt to be interested in more than just work since that’s only one aspect to bringing a new person on board.

4. Network, Network, Network!

What we continue to know as the job market continues to flooded with more people than jobs is: The more people you know the better you chances. This means that not only do you want to make a targeted effort to meet individuals in your industry, but also individuals outside your industry.

This can be even more important if you’re in an industry like communication, software or medical equipment sales. I say that because you never know where your next job opportunity will come from, and knowing someone in that industry to tap for additional information or a name to strategically drop can be very useful.

So, I’m not sure what else may have contributed to securing a new full time position. But I will say these were things that I learned about during the interview or my first week that seemed to be helpful. What else would you add to this list? Feel free to share in the comments section below.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on October 24, 2010 in business, Networking, social media

 

Tags: , , ,

9 responses to “From Freelancer to Full Timer: Landing Your Next Position

  1. Written Impact

    October 25, 2010 at 12:23 pm

    Congrats Erika and best wishes to you! I know you will be awesome in this new role. I will miss your smiling face at the DEC.

     
    • Erika Pryor

      October 26, 2010 at 12:57 pm

      Thanks Lori! So far things are going well so far. They are keeping me very busy. I will miss your smiling face too — so, we’ll have to make it a point to get together and catch up. Keep writing and doing the awesome work you do.

       
  2. Julia Kinslow

    October 25, 2010 at 2:51 am

    Erika:

    I am so happy to see you’ve found a way to combine your talents, interests and values into one position. I think you’re right where you should be and I know you will do great!

    Best wishes and success in your new role!

    Julia

     
    • Erika Pryor

      October 25, 2010 at 5:52 am

      Thanks so much Julia for your encouraging words. I feel as though there are things I can improve upon, as well as grow in this position. I’ll keep you posted on my progress!

       
  3. Teddy Anderson

    October 25, 2010 at 1:05 am

    Congratulations Erika!

    Very good post, each point is excellent advice. I think there is fifth though. Take action on the first four points while you are still employed or happily freelancing. Too often people wait to take action till they need that job and the brand they build is desperation.

     
    • Erika Pryor

      October 25, 2010 at 5:54 am

      Teddy,
      Excellent point you make. The worse thing you can do is wait until you really need a new job (i.e. out of work) to build your brand, begin networking, and the like. Everyone can sense desperation — so, as you indicate — if you do the work before you really, really need to then you won’t give others the impression that you are desperate.

      Thanks for contributing and your kind words! It’s always great to hear from you!

       
  4. Antonio HArden

    October 24, 2010 at 3:16 pm

    Good luck in your new job i know you will be great.

     
  5. Susan Wright-Boucher

    October 24, 2010 at 3:07 pm

    Best of luck in your new role. I have a feeling you’ll do great!

     
    • Erika Pryor

      October 24, 2010 at 3:13 pm

      Thanks for the support Susan! I appreciate it. I’ve got high hopes and am enjoying my time there so far.

       

Leave a Reply

 
