RSS

Oxygen Network: Keep it or Kill It?

27 Dec

Today while eating a very tasty Cedar Seared Alaskan Salmon, broccoli, and rice pilaf (my favorite meal by the way) entrée from O’Charley’s (a favorite restaurant),  my attention drifted towards the Sunday marathons of “Snapped,” on the Oxygen Network. This stellar faux-newsmagazine program tells the sordid tales of women “screwing the pooch” in their roles as wives, mothers, and girlfriends.

The program format also is sure to feature a  young, beautiful woman leading a charmed life snaps. What becomes amazing at this point in the program is that each woman is loosely defined as both a victim and a perpetrator.  Although I want to feel sympathetic for this person and woman involved in what are horrible defining moments of her life, but I have a hard time doing so.  Evoking this emotion for a person that has such disregard for human life they would take another person’s life is really a mystery to me. But dinner is over and we are home unloading the firewood we picked up at the Smith Farms on Winchester Pike.

There’s always something to do, so I proceeded to clean, fold laundry, and enjoy the company of my family. When the house became quiet I decided it was time: To open my laptop. After a brief YouTube search for “Snapped on Oxygen.” I found a really humorist short of the program that spoke to me in a particular way. Trust me: if you get this article, you’ll like this video.

I’m not going to ask if anyone has ever snapped, but I am wondering if you have a story about how you really wanted to snap?

 
8 Comments

Posted by on December 27, 2009 in communication

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “Oxygen Network: Keep it or Kill It?

  1. Farmville Cheats

    January 29, 2010 at 3:21 am

    Howdy, I’m searching for information that is some thing like from what you get posted here. eventhough this one is not precisely what I’m looking for, I find your webspace interesting and to state you the truth I am quite taken. I am certain that lot of users see your website useful and will assist them in some way. I’ll bookmark your internet site so I can check for new updates later. Thanks and keep up the superb work

     
    • Erika Pryor

      January 29, 2010 at 6:24 am

      Thanks so much for your kind words. I’m so glad you find the site interesting and engaging. That is my goal. I hope to write more media commentary in the future. Thanks for bookmarking and feel free to subscribe as well. Good luck with your research.

       
  2. Maria Hrafn

    January 28, 2010 at 10:06 pm

    I was reading something else about this on another blog. Interesting. Your perspective on it is diametrically contradicted to what I read earlier. I am still mulling over the different points of view, but I’m tipped heavily toward yours. And regardless, that’s what is so good about contemporary democracy and the marketplace of thoughts on-line.

     
  3. Lida Wurzer

    January 24, 2010 at 5:16 pm

    Many thanks for the article. I appreciate it. You have a very nice blog.

     
  4. Tai Sherman

    January 7, 2010 at 3:19 am

    I love snapped, but I also loved that video! Hilarious. I am actually watching snapped right now. I don’t have a problem with the show or the network. Personal choices that are based on my values dictate my life, so if I see something I don’t like, I turn the channel. I never watch the Bad Girls Club, because I find the promos annoying; and if I want to see a bunch of women fighting all I have to do is call up my sisters and cousins invite them over and put out a box of wine.

    Anyway, great blog.

    -Tai

     
    • Erika Pryor

      January 7, 2010 at 10:29 am

      Tai, I’m glad you found the post funny and entertaining. The Bad Girls Club is one program on the Oxygen Network that I simply cannot watch either. I believe personal choices are important and although I don’t “love” snapped, I appreciate the ability to select this program over others, and vice versa. Importantly, personal choice is a bedrock of our society. Thanks for your response. Happy Viewing.

       
  5. jesspgh

    December 27, 2009 at 5:30 pm

    Oh I love Sarah Haskins. She’s so hilarious!

     
    • Erika Pryor

      December 28, 2009 at 4:20 am

      I wish I would have discovered her a bit earlier. I loved the YouTube video as soon as I saw it, and plan to incorporate more in the future. Thanks for stopping by The Erika Pryor Lifestyle Blog Jessica. I look forward to hearing from you again in the future. Happy Holidays!

       

Leave a Reply

 
