RSS

Oprah Retires 2011–Who Can Take Her Place

30 Nov

Part 1 By: Courtney Herring, Guest Contributor

Ever since I was a little girl, I’ve had big dreams. Dreams of becoming a media mogul like Oprah. I dream of giving away awesome gifts every season (how does “you get a house…and you get a house…and you get a house!” sound?) and helping those who are unable to help themselves. Oh, and the juicy interviews with celebrities, doesn’t sound half bad, either. But then I snap back to my reality of being a first-year Masters student operating on a budget so strict, I can’t afford to pay attention. So, for now, my Oprah dreams will have to wait. Now that Oprah’s stepping away from her daytime show, I’m sure everyone is wondering who will be next to fill her gigantic shoes. Since I eat, sleep, and drink all things media-related, I have been perusing blogs that have been attempting to speculate who could be next to fill the huge void that will be left by her absence. So, until my dreams of media domination come to fruition, I’m going to offer my two-cents about who others think could possibly be next (other than me) in the near-future, that is.

If you visit some of the same places I do online, then you already know who will be first on this list of possibles…

Tyra Banks. From haute couture runway model, to being the first African-American woman to be featured on the cover of the Sports Illustrated Magazine’s annual swimsuit issue, to becoming one of the most recognizable Victoria’s Secret models, to the creation of America’s Next Top Model and finally, to the creation of her very own daytime talk show, it may seem as if Tyra should be first in line, right? While I truly believe Tyra is a shrewd business woman with much talent, I’m not quick to immediately place her in O’s position so soon. It’s not because she is a former model, either. And, it’s not because I don’t take her show seriously. I watch it from time to time when I want to be entertained, and that’s it. Though she has won an Emmy award for her talk show in the “informative” category, I don’t see her show as it is even coming close to Oprah’s. I’m going to give Tyra her props – she has made quite a name for herself apart from her glory days as a runway model. She’s definitely making an impact on the media universe. She is also committed to raising the self-esteem of teenage girls and women old and young, something that I definitely appreciate in a world where wafer thin is in. She also reveals some biases through her “Tyra-Ville” social experiments, too.  I see her show as having potential, but I think there is still room to grow. Her show is not as well-rounded as I would like it to be, but then again, maybe it’s not her intention. I could go on and on about the things that I wish Tyra could do to fill the shoes of the beloved Queen of Talk, but that’s another can of worms.

Ellen. Her show has huge viewership and is a success. She is funny, quirky, and entertaining. She can dance (or at least she thinks she can). She is even going to be featured on the c over of O magazine with Oprah after years of begging and pleading. But, nahhh. Not Oprah status. Even though she pulls great celebrities to interview and while some believe she is engaging, I don’t see her taking that top spot, ever. I just can’t take her seriously, and maybe I’m not supposed to. Read Courtney Herring’s Bio at: https://erikapryorlifestyle.wordpress.com/guest-contributors/courtney-herring/

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 30, 2009 in blog

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
